Vintage skills and washing machines.

We are drawing near to the end of our official homeschool year. And as such I am planning for the summer. This summer all of the minions will be starting a home economics course. It will be tailored to each minions age, but the skills will essentially be the same. It’s going to be a fairly wide range of skills; ranging from etiquette, finances, cooking, sewing, home maintenance, and the like. I am actually looking forward to it. I have a handful of books that I have ordered to be used as part of our curriculum and as soon as they get here I will be making lesson plans. We are ordering them as our budget allows, so two will be here this week and the next two will be ordered next pay period. #budgeting101. The first thing they are working on is budgestin, ironically. So they each have a check book that they will use to track their “income” and pay their bills. It will be an eye opening lesson for them.  They will learn to work from a standard bi weekly pay period as well as a once a month pay period.

Over the weekend, Miss Mayhem heard that there was an antique festival nearby. So she convinced The Undertaker to take everyone down to explore. A good time was had by all. The boys really enjoyed looking at old tools and talking about how they were used. We picked up a lovely painting that the minions loooved. And we found a beautiful vintage washing machine! It was absolutely stunning and really neat to see one of the first kinds of electric washing machines.

Isn’t she gorgeous? This was my favorite thing I saw while we were there. I clearly couldn’t bring her home, but oh she was fun to look at! I do wish they still made them this pretty. Sigh. I did find an item to bring home, however. I found a beautiful silver cookie stand. And it was on sale! One of the perks of shopping on the last day is that a lot of vendors don’t want to cart things back home so you can sometimes get a good deal.

I have it next to my stove top to hold various foods. I need to polish it up but otherwise it’s a beautiful piece. Hard to believe it was only eight dollars! I don’t know if it’s a real antique, or silver for that matter, but it’s pretty and the price was right.

Post festival The Undertaker took the minions to get ice cream. It really sealed the day for them. I am looking forward to summer and lots more fun trips out with the horde.

Leave a comment